Skip to main content
Best London Comedy Club 2011 - 2020

Comedy Bursary

Pictured above: some of the great female acts who have performed with us over the years

Bursary for Female and Non-Binary Comedians

The 99 Club is London’s biggest employer of stand-up comics and has been awarded London’s Best Comedy Club at the Chortle Awards every year from 2011 to 2018.

Last summer, we hosted our second Comedy Bursary Showcase and were delighted when participants Sarah Keyworth and Olga Koch were subsequently nominated for the Best Newcomer Award at the Edinburgh Fringe for their solo shows, following on from previous winner Lauren Pattison, who also received a nomination in 2017!

We’re thrilled to announce that we will now be running our third showcase this year for female/non-binary performers taking their first full length solo show to the Edinburgh Festival. Shortlisted performers will appear in a showcase at 99 Club Leicester Square @ Browns on Tuesday 30th April 2019; two comics will each receive an award of £500.

Over the years we’ve been lucky enough to host performances by amazing, highly talented female comics like Sara Pascoe, Ellie Taylor, Josie Long, Sarah Millican and Sarah Silverman, to name just a few!

We know that there will be many more talented female/non-binary comics out there who we look forward to working with in future. We also know that it’s important to take concrete steps to support female performers.


To apply, please complete the form below, providing us with a link to a Youtube clip of yourself performing stand-up. This does not have to be material from the show you will be taking to Edinburgh this year. Clips should be around five minutes in length. Please also tell us about your show in 300 words or less. Applicants should not have previously performed a solo show at the Edinburgh Festival longer than 48 minutes in duration.

Please note that due to high volume of applications we will not be able to provide individual feedback. Shortlisted applicants will be contacted w/c 22nd April.

Application deadline: 16th April 2019

Application Form

Comedy Bursary

99 Club Comedy Bursary 2018 Finalists Adele Cliff, Catherine Bohart, Sarah Keyworth, Olga Koch and Jenan Younis

99 Club Comedy Bursary 2017 Finalists Arna Spek, Maria Shehata, Lauren Pattison, Evelyn Mok and Athena Kugblenu

Talk to Us

Please send us an instant message, we may not always be able to respond instantly so for urgent enquiries please call or email directly
(Mon-Sun, 10am-10pm)

Telephone: 07760 488119

Email: [email protected]